Schools South Island Road HORI

South Island School Road Championships

Road & Track
6 July 2024 - 7 July 2024

Canterbury Schools Cycling:

The 2024 South Island School Road Championships will be held in Christchurch from 6-7 July and hosted by the team at Canterbury Schools Cycling!

The event will include an Individual Time Trial, Road Race and Team Time Trial - held at Ruapuna Motorsport Park.

Click here for the provisional Event Manual - as at 20 May 2024


Start Lists


*Please note this is all subject to change.



Age as at 31 December 2024.

Individual Races: U20, U17, U16, U15, U14, U13 boys and girls  

Teams Race: Senior (U20), Junior (U16) and Year 7 & 8

The size of team for the Team Time Trial is:
U20: 5 riders with time taken on the 4th rider (4 to finish)
U16 and Y7&8: 4 riders with time taken on 3rd rider (3 to finish)
At a minimum competitors must be enrolled in Year 7

Entries will open on Wednesday 1 May 2024.

Schools must be affiliated for 2024 and follow the 6 Step by Step Guide here before they will be able to enter this event.

Click here to view the live entry list.  


Entry Fees

Individual Time Trial = $40 per person
Road Race = $40 per person
Team Time Trial = $50 per team

Entries Close Payments must be Received (otherwise the students will not be eligible to race)
5pm Friday 21 June Thursday 4 July


Composite Teams - Team Time Trial
If you are entering a Composite team please advise us by adding COMPOSITE into the team name in Enter Now and by emailing to confirm. See CNZ Schools Rules for more information. Composite teams are eligible to compete and will be recognised on the podium if they place in the top 3, however as per the current Schools Cycling Rules, they are ineligible to receive a medal.


Refund Policy

Refunds requested after the entry closing date will only be processed on the presentation of a medical certificate. All refunds will incur a $25 administration fee.


Terms and Conditions

Click here for the event terms and conditions.

Racing will be conducted under the Cycling New Zealand Schools Rules. All riders should familiars themselves with the complete Rules under which racing will be conducted.


Health and Safety 
Everyone has a responsibly towards Health and Safety at an event.

The safety of the riders, officials, volunteer and spectators are included in the event planning. This includes (but not limited to) road restrictions, traffic management and event advisories to the local businesses and residents.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding Health and Safety please report to the Chief Commissaire or to the Race Director. 

Our Supporters