Event wrap up - SKODA North & South Island School Road Championships

Road & Track
2022 image v2

The 2022 Schools Cycling calendar finally got started over the July school holidays with over 800 riders getting amongst the action.

The SKODA South and North Island School Road Championships were first up, held in Christchurch and Cambridge respectively.

The SKODA South Island School Road Championships were staged at Ruapuna Motor-sport Park over two days, with an Individual Time Trial and Team Time Trial followed by Road Races for all categories, U13 – U20. 150 riders from 50 schools took part in the event, held in the toughest Canterbury conditions possible with heavy rain and fresh winds making racing challenging for all.

Noah Hollamby (Timaru Boys High) had a standout performance, winning both the U17 Time Trial and Road Race. In the U20 Boys grade, Marshall Erwood from James Hargest College took the Time Trial title and the fastest time of the day, but got pipped by local rider Charlie Hegan of Christchurch Boys High in the Road Race.

Meghan Baker from Cashmere High School was the star in the U17 girl’s field taking both the Time Trial and Road Race titles, including taking the honours of fastest female time trialist of the day. Christchurch Girls’ High rider, Lola Bryson-Boe won the U20 girls time trial, but had to settle for silver to Maddison Lowry (Ashburton College) in the Road Race.

Rangi Ruru Girls School and Christchurch Boys High School showed their strength in the Team Time Trial, taking out both the Senior and Junior titles, with Medbury Prep School and Hillview Christian School winning the Year 7 & 8 boys and girls grades. Christchurch Boys High ended up taking the Hayden Godfrey Challenge Cup for the team’s points competition, in a tight battle with Rangi Ruru Girls College and Medbury Prep School.

Up in Cambridge, the North Island riders took part in the two day event consisting of a Team Time Trial, Road Race and Criterium.

In the U20 Boys Road Race, Auckland Grammar riders took the top spots with Edward Pawson and Austin Norwell making a small break over Robin Kos (Hamilton Boys High) in 3rd place. Auckland Grammar also placed 1st and 2nd in the Team Time Trial, with Pawson topping things off by claiming the Criterium title on Sunday.

Arabella Tuck (Cambridge High) had a dominant performance in the road race by winning the final sprint against Bonnie Rattray (Baradene College). Tuck backed it up in the criterium putting 21 seconds on the bunch, claiming both North Island titles. In the Senior Team Time Trial, Epsom Girls Grammar won the title with a clear lead over Saint Kentigern College in 2nd.

In the U17 field, Ava Maddison (Epsom Girls Grammar) was in excellent form taking home all three titles at the event, with the again dominant Auckland Grammar taking the U17 boys top spots in the criterium with Lucas Bhimy, Daniel Morton and Zane Wyllie taking the top 3 places, after Wyllie and Morton were 1st and 2nd the day before in the road race.

Auckland Grammar School and Baradene College were awarded the Top School trophies for the most points over the Road Race and Criterium events.

Thanks to Canterbury Schools Cycling and Red Events for running these events. 

For full results, click on the links below.

North Island Results

South Island Results

Back to news